Two Lab scientists received the Enrico Fermi Presidential Award in a special ceremony Tuesday at the Lab. Darleane Hoffman, a pioneering nuclear chemist who joined the Lab’s Nuclear Science Division in 1984 as a faculty senior scientist, was on hand to receive her medallion. The second laureate, Gabor Somorjai, could not attend the ceremony, but his spouse and son accepted the award on his behalf. Somorjai is a world authority on catalysis and is an affiliate in the Lab’s Materials Sciences Division, where he was also a faculty senior scientist for many years.

The award is one of the most prestigious science honors bestowed by the U.S. government. You can watch the replay if you missed the ceremony, which was also virtual on Zoom.

And if you want a behind-the-scenes look at the event, check out this video highlight reel.